A Hero Reborn?

Random picture with rubbish lighting, nothing to do with anything - just like yours truly...?

If you are one of the unfortunate few who have been here before, you might have noticed that there has been a slight revamping of the site.  As some of you might know, I am currently toying around with the idea of starting the old blog up again.  For those who are not familiar, this little blog was originally created as a place for me to post my random thoughts and comments on various topics, which were usually (but not limited to) gaming and gadgets themed.

Having quit playing MMOs on a serious level a couple of years back, I found myself enjoying more free time than I was privy to previously.  All this free time meant extra time on the net, and it had lead me on an extended tour to a number of previously unexplored gaming blogs and podcasts.  As I explored these blogs and shows, somewhere along the line I found myself picking up the annoying habit of shouting out loud, ranting and raving over things that I had read or heard, and sometimes over things that I was experiencing within my own games.  I realised then that there were just so many musings and strange ideas that I wanted to write down for future reference, and perhaps share and discuss with likeminded folks.  And I thought, hey, instead of shouting angrily at a podcast that I’m listening to at work, or having intense arguments with myself on the bus over the plot of a game or a movie, why not start a blog, a personal journal of sorts that would record snippets of my life and store it on the WWW?

And thus, “The Skeptical Hero” was born.  To be honest the blog never really took off the last time it was launched.  While there had been a surprising number of visitors, it never really had any real readers.  The place never really felt alive, and the lack of comments meant I was still basically ranting to myself (admittedly in a quieter text form). I guess the at the end of the day, the failure of the blog mainly came down to me being too lazy, or too tired to write after coming home from a full days work.  Working six day weeks, most of the time when I get home from work I just want to crawl into bed and sleep, or perhaps just spend the night doing what a gamer does – playing games.

There WERE other problems too I guess.  The lack of focus for example.  The entries I had posted jumped from long serious rants to semi technical reviews to random YouTube links.  While it had always been intended as a place for me to rant and muse, I felt perhaps I didn’t explain the site enough, that people didn’t know what to expect going in, and, probably still didn’t know what to expect exiting.

And then there was the lack of content.  While I had lots of rants and ideas bottled up inside of me, problem was that often by the time I got around to writing, I rarely have much to say.  Sometimes it is similar to when you awake from a dream, how you find yourself unable to remember your experiences, or any of the fine details – details which moments ago had seem to vivid, so sharp, and so immense and intense.  Often by the time I sit down to write I find myself having lost track of all my thoughts and ideas, and unable to recall what I had sat down to write in the first place.  And then there are the times when I find myself restricted by my own limited vocabulary and literary skills, when things become lost in the translation from idea to text, forcing me to abandon the entry mid-post.

Anyways somewhere along the line the blog just kinda stopped.  Not exactly sure when or why, but it all kinda just fizzled out during my holiday back in July last year – it might even have been before that, around the time I stopped playing Rift perhaps.  Whatever the case, like I said earlier on I am currently toying around with the idea of relaunching the blog.  The idea is that this time, the blog will have more of a direction, while at the same time less of a focus.  It will be rantier, less formal, and more random – in other words more like me in real life.  The blog will still be accessible by the general public, however, to be honest if I do relaunch the site, any posts I might make will mostly be for personal reasons.  It will be a vanity project and a journal of sorts, a snap shot of my life at this point in time, something for me to look back to at a future time, when I am supposedly older and wiser.

And so, that’s it for me, for now.  Will I be back?  Well well, only time will tell.

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

