Lamenting The Mountain

My tramp through my mountain of junk has been proceeding at a snail’s pace (see https://skepticalhero.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/baby-step-tramping-through-the-mountain/). However, progress IS being made.  In the past couple of weeks I have thrown away years worth of books; collector’s edition boxes; action figures and a myriad of other little bits and pieces.  During this time I have also gathered up dozens of CDs, DVDs and Blu-Rays, all ready to be traded in.

It is depressing, seeing the amount of junk that I have uncovered thus far. Seeing all the things that I had once considered my treasures, but now lie hidden and forgotten.  Things that I haven’t seen or thought about in years, and in some cases, things that I never knew I had.  Not to mention the things that I thought I had but could not find, the things that I have somehow lost without even realising.

It get even more depressing, when I think about all my limited collector’s editions and numbered merchandise from years back, never opened, gathering dust since their purchased, and eventually thrown away…  My old VHS tapes, with the hours I spent recording movies, shows and videos off TV (and in some cases even more hours spent cutting out ads, and transferring to new tapes), now useless, and again thrown away…

I find it sobering, thinking about all the things that I once held dear to my heart, but now find meaningless and abandoned, thrown out and devoid of use. It makes me look around at all my current treasures with brand new eyes, and it leaves me wondering – just what is all this good for?  Just what is the point of having money and processions, when it is all ultimately meaningless?

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

