Recently Played: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World [2010]

Watching Tekken in the previous week got me in the mood for more video gaming action, so this week I ended up replaying the blu-ray Scott Pilgrim vs. the World from 2010.

Directed by Edgar Wright (whom you might know from Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz), this action-romantic-comedy plays host to a bevy of stars, including Michael CeraMary Elizabeth WinsteadJason SchwartzmanChris Evans, Brandon Routh and more.

Cera plays the titular Scott Pilgrim, a twenty-two year old bass guitarist who falls in love with the beautiful and mysterious Ramona Flowers (played by Winstead).  But in order to date her, he must first defend himself in fights to the death against her seven evil ex’es.

I have to admit that I have never read the comic the film was based on – but as a gaming nerd, a comic book lover, a martial arts fan and a hopeless romantic, I have to say this live action 8-bit film somehow manages to tick all of the boxes on my list, and then some, with its uniquely stylish visual effects, non-stop over the stop action, pumping soundtrack, and smart funny writing all backed by a great director and cast.

This film probably isn’t for everyone, but if you are a gaming nerd like myself then you are probably already a fan.  For the rest of yous, I leave you with two words: Vegan Superpowers…  I bet you’re curious now huh?

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

One response to “Recently Played: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World [2010]

Leave a Reply

