Recently Played: Boiling Point [1990]

This DVD has been sitting in my collection for a quite a number of years now, but somehow I had never gotten around to playing it – until now that is. Released in 1990, Boiling Point was written and directed by the Japanese actor/writer/director ‘Beat’ Takeshi Kitano, who by the way, is probably best known in the West for his roles in films such as Violent CopZatoichi, and Battle Royale.

Let me start off by saying I am a huge fan of the Japanese and their culture, and that their films, games, anime, and gadgets all play a huge part of my life, and have been for many, many years.  As such, I thought by now I would be well used to all their little ethnic eccentricities – however, watching this film I can’t shake the feeling that perhaps something was lost in the translation, and that perhaps I don’t quite understand the Japanese as well as I thought I did.

Boiling Point tells the story of a frail, quiet man in a small town, who was pushed one step too far (beyond boiling point some might say) when his friend was beaten half to death by the local Yakuza – and so begins his violent quest for revenge…

On paper, the plot was simple (and cliche) enough – however, I was not prepared for this film.  Not by a long shot.  I can’t even begin to describe how surreal the film is, with its cast of stoic deadpan characters, the constant slow awkward stares and pauses, and the general bizarreness that are scattered throughout.  If you haven’t done so already, check out the trailer on the top of the page to get an idea of just how bizarre this film really is.  I have watched the DVD twice now, and the second time round I still find myself scratching my head over every single scene, wondering just what the hell is going on with- well, everything really.

Anyways is this a good movie?  I honestly don’t know.  And did I enjoy it? Again, I really, honestly don’t know.

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

