Spotlight: The Virgin Suicides [1999]

With the 15th being just a few short hours away, I am now fast approaching the peak of my low.  In case anyone out there is wondering exactly what the mysterious 15th I keep mentioning is – well, dear readers, I just wanna say, happy birthday to me…

And now, with that nonsense out of the way, as promised, it is time for the forth and final spotlight in my series of haunting melancholic films.

Tonight the old spotlight is shining brightly on the 1999 classic, The Virgin Suicides.

Based on a novel by Jeffrey Eugenides, this film adaptation was produced by none other than Francis Ford Coppola, and it marks the writing and directorial debut of his daughter Sofia Coppola.

Featuring a full rich cast consisting of the likes of James Woods, Kathleen Turner, Kirsten Dunst, and Josh Hartnett, and with a rich hypnotic original score that was produced, composed and performed by the French duo Air – this film tells the story of five young sisters, with the plot focusing on the aftermath that ensue after the youngest of the five attempted suicide at the beginning of the film.

With the themes of love, isolation, death and suicide focused heavily throughout, out of all the spotlights I have done thus far this one is perhaps the the most haunting of them all.  This is a compelling film that has somehow drawn me back time and again – a truly unique title which fills me with this unshakable sense of lost and sorrow every time I watch it, offering an uneasy sombering experience that I am not entirely sure I enjoy.

The Virgin Suicides is one of those films that one simply cannot forget once you have experienced it.  Love it or hate it, this mesmerising title has left its mark on my soul, and will surely stay with me for the rest of my life.

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

