“Hey Phil, I’m with you on this one…”

Since I am semi back on the site, I thought I would take this opportunity to say “hey Phil Fish, I’m with you on this one.”

For those who are not aware, Phil Fish is a Montreal based developer, the creator of the massively popular title, Fez.  Fish had announced the sequel to this very same game not too long ago, but, in a surprising move earlier this week, he announced its cancellation, after being the target of numerous vicious and hateful comments.

“FEZ II is cancelled.”  He said.

“i am done.  i take the money and i run.  this is as much as i can stomach.
this is isn’t the result of any one thing, but the end of a long, bloody campaign.”

Many would disagree with me, but like I said I’m with Phil on this one.  Granted all I know of the guy is from Indie Game: The Movie, but he seems like a decent guy to me, just your average joe trying to make a living.

And I feel his pain you know.  I have been working in retail for 10+ years and I know just how horrible people can be, and, as everybody knows folks on the internet can be A LOT worse.  Which is why as much as I hate to say it, I was not surprised by the level of hatred that he had to endure, or even at the level of abuse that people are still throwing his way even now.

Right now I am hearing a lot of people saying things like “yeah he should’ve ignored the nasty comments” or “he should’ve stayed out of the public domain”, a sentiment which I sort of agree with.  But, on the same note I say he shouldn’t have to.  Bully is bullying – it just shouldn’t happen, and when it does we shouldn’t just stand back and accept it.  Why and when has it become the norm, for it to be acceptable for folks to be attacked and abused?  And why in gods name are people frowning upon and punishing those who are the victims of abuse, at folks like Fish, and not those who are throwing the abuse in the first place?

It is a truly sad world we live in indeed.

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

