Potential Gems

I have been rather down on mainstream gaming in recent times, especially on what I perceive to be a lack of innovation and originality.  Sadly in my opinion the indie scene is doing just as bad on that front, with an endless number of cheap clones pouring out of every corner of the market.  However, the potential for greatness IS out there, and a lot of these more interesting projects are appearing on the market in the form of early access playable betas, or are hyped pre-release as Greenlight or Kickstarter projects.

This is why I have decided to shake the digital dust off this site, and in the next few posts (assuming I could force myself out of bed) help shine the old spotlight on a few upcoming or work-in-progress projects – potential gems which I find interesting, and want to see succeed.

I know this site might not have the traffic and following, but hey, every little bit helps, and however tiny I’m sure the developers won’t complain about any extra bit of potential funding I can direct their way, so, watch this space ladies and gents.

In the meantime, here are a few examples of recent successes, and unfortunately, recent failures.

Examples of projects which succeed beyond expectations includes Mojang’s Minecraft:

Subset Games’ FTL: Faster Than Light:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/64409699/ftl-faster-than-light

or Harebrained Schemes’ Shadowrun Returns:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1613260297/shadowrun-returns

Sadly, other projects failed to even get past the drawing board stage, like Ed Annunziata’s The Big Blue:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/annunziata/the-next-ecco-the-dolphin-adventure-game

or Gas Powered Games’ Wildman, another project that was unfortunately cancelled due to a lack of funding.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/gaspoweredgames/wildman-an-evolutionary-action-rpg/posts

About BC_Animus

I spend all of my non-work time pretty much on games, movies, and listening to music and podcasts. Gadget lover and gamer - own several major consoles, but mainly play MMOs on the PC nowadays. I am quiet & shy but hell of a nice guy. Consider my childhood days to be the golden age of gaming, with companies like Origin with their Ultimas and Privateers. For me MMOs are all about the people, and not about gear or loot. View all posts by BC_Animus

Leave a Reply

